When I submit a report, what does the recipient get?
The recipient gets an email from [email protected] (they will not see your email address). The email contains a link to a webpage where they can download your report as a PDF. After downloading the report, the recipient has 30 days to download it again before it’s automatically deleted from our servers.
If you’re a verified employee whose organization uses Spot, your organization receives the report in their Spot dashboard. We store the report on our servers until your organization decides to delete it.
Why does Spot automatically delete reports?
To keep your data private and safe. We aim to minimize the amount of time your sensitive information is available to a third party.
If you ask Spot to submit a report to your organization, you can see whether the recipient has downloaded it by using the status webpage link saved during your chat with Spot. If the recipient has not yet downloaded it and you no longer want them to have access to it, you can manually delete that version of the report from the status webpage.
If you’re a verified employee whose organization uses Spot, you won’t be able to delete submitted reports.
You can also email us at [email protected]
with your report ID to request that we delete your data.How do I know the status of the report I sent?
You’ll get a link to a status webpage (keep this link in a safe place). The status page will show when the recipient has downloaded your report. If you change your mind about sending the report to your organization and the recipient has not yet downloaded it, you can manually delete your report on this page.
If you submit a report as a verified employee of an organization that uses Spot, you won’t receive a status webpage link because you can be certain that your employer received the report. If your organization doesn’t follow up on your report within 10 business days, please email us at [email protected]
with your report ID. We hold organizations accountable for taking action on the reports they receive.What if the recipient doesn’t download my report?
If the recipient doesn’t download your report, it will remain unread on the Spot servers. Starting 24 hours after you send the report, you can go to your status webpage and send a reminder to the recipient.
If you submit your report as a verified employee of an organization that uses Spot, you won’t have a status webpage because you can be certain that your employer received your report. If your organization doesn’t follow up on your report within 10 business days, please email us at [email protected]
with your report ID. We hold organizations accountable for taking action on the reports they receive.
To edit and resend your report, you’ll need to go through the bot interview again. We recommend cutting and pasting from your original report to speed up this process.
Keep all versions of a report for your records. The report created closest to the date of the event will generally be considered the most reliable evidence.Can I send a report to myself?
Yes. You can email yourself your report.
Remember that if you want to stay anonymous, forwarding to your manager or boss from your email address is riskier than sending the report through Spot (we won’t reveal your email when we send it).Can I return to my Spot report after I close the browser tab or window?
Yes, if you create a report and opt to save it for later. We email you a link to come back to your report and submit it to your organization when you’re ready.How can a recipient trust the report hasn’t been tampered with?
Spot reports are PDFs that are securely signed and timestamped. Each also has a unique ID consisting of numbers and letters.What does ‘securely signed and timestamped’ mean?
Your report is securely signed by Palace Inc., Spot’s legally incorporated entity. This process adds a special mark to the PDF detailing when Spot created the file and prevents it from being modified. Secure signatures protect you in case someone tries to tamper with your report after you create or send it.
A timestamp is simply a record of the time and date when you told Spot what happened. If you edit a response after the interview but before sending your report, Spot records a new timestamp for that piece of information; a timestamp appears above each response.
Anyone who accesses the report with Adobe Reader
can verify that it was not altered after the date stated in the PDF.If I submit a report anonymously through Spot, can I identify myself later?
Yes. From your own email address, send the full original report that you downloaded. Since your report is securely signed and has a unique ID, your organization can see that it’s identical to the one they received previously.What if I’m not ready to submit a report yet?
You can talk to Spot, create a report, and then decide to save the report for later. If you save it for later, you can come back to Spot to edit and submit the report to your organization when you’re ready.Can a report be un-sent?
No. If you’ve already submitted a report to someone, it cannot be un-sent by us or by you. However, if the recipient has not yet downloaded the report, you can manually delete it on the status webpage. If the recipient has already downloaded your report, you can email us your report ID and request that we delete the data immediately rather than 30 days after the recipient’s first download. We cannot delete the recipient’s copy of the report after they’ve downloaded it. If you submit a report as a verified employee of an organization that uses Spot, you will not be able to manually delete your report.